Postdoc Mentoring Award

Postdoc Mentoring Awards

The Postdoc Mentoring Awards recognize faculty on the UW-Madison campus that contribute their time, knowledge, energy, and enthusiasm to mentoring and advancing postdocs in their labs. Faculty are nominated by current or former postdocs, and each year we receive numerous nominations from postdocs seeking to recognize the outstanding mentoring they receive. Every year, we can only select a few of the of the outstanding nominations to receive the award, but are grateful for all the work the faculty at UW-Madison engage in with postdocs that makes UW-Madison an excellent place to work and develop. Click through the links below to see the list of award winners from previous years. Faculty will be listed with their degree, and department as of 2019.

  • 2019 Awardees

    Alessandro Senes, PhD

    Department of Biochemistry

    Mostafa Zamanian, PhD

    Department of Pathobiological Sciences

    Mitra Sharafi, PhD

    Law School, Department of History

    Darryl Thelen, PhD

    Department of Mechanical Engineering

    Claudio Gratton, PhD

    Department of Entomology

  • 2018 Awardees

    Andrew Alexander, PhD

    Departments of Medical Phsyics and Psychiatry

    Dane Cook, PhD

    Departments of Kinesiology and Exercise Psychology

    Erica Hlverson, PhD

    Department of Curriculum and Instruction

  • 2017 Awardees

    Bruce Barrette, MD, PhD

    Department of Family Medicine and Community Health

    Randall Kimple, MD, PhD

    Department of Human Oncology

    Michelle Ciucci, PhD

    Departments of Surgery and Communication Sciences

    Anthony Stretton, PhD

    Department of Integrative Biology

    Patricia McManus, PhD

    Chair – Plant Pathology

  • 2016 Awardees

    Simon Gilroy, PhD

    Department of Botany

    Ive Hermans, PhD

    Department of Chemistry, Wisconsin Energy Institute

    Jan S. Greenberg, PhD

    School of Social Work

  • 2015 Awardees

    Marsha Mailick, PhD

    Vice Chancellor for Research and Graduate Education

    Troy Runge, PhD

    Biological Systems Engineering

    Paul Terry, PhD

    Department of Physics

    David Gamm, MD, PhD

    Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, Waisman Center

    Stephanie Robert, MSW, PhD

    Director – School of Social Work

2019 Post-Holiday Postdoc Celebration

January 11th, 2019 from 5:00-7:30pm

Tripp Commons, Memorial Union

2018-2019 Postdoc Mentoring Awards – CLOSED

Thank you to all the postdocs that submitted nominations for this year’s Postdoc Mentoring Award! We will announce the winning faculty members soon, and post the new winners to this page. Every year, we have many nominations of excellent faculty supporting and mentoring postdocs, and unfortunately we can only recognize a small number of faculty every year. We would like to recognize all those that were nominated, thank you for supporting postdocs at UW-Madison! Your time, experience, and help are critical to training the next generation of scientists and for providing an stimulating a positive atmosphere at UW.