UWPA Engagement Committee

The objective of the University of Wisconsin-Madison Postdoctoral Association (UWPA) Engagement Committee is to find and create opportunities for UW-Madison postdocs to build social and professional connections and collaborations with other researchers within and outside of our institution and to communicate and participate in outreach with the broader community. Therefore, we have identified four primary goals:

  1. Postdoc-to-Postdoc Engagement: We aim to enhance the engagement amongst UW-Madison postdocs.
  2. UWPA-to-Postdoc Engagement: We aim to enhance the engagement and communication of the UWPA with UW-Madison postdocs.
  3. Engagement with the General Public and Broader Communities: We aim to provide opportunities for postdocs at UW-Madison to engage with the general public and the broader UW-Madison community.
  4. Engagement with Postdocs at Other Universities: We aim to enhance the engagement of UW-Madison postdocs with postdocs at other institutions and with the National Postdoctoral Association (NPA). 

The committee will work together on projects that align with our goals, and we welcome any and all ideas and suggestions from the UW-Madison postdoc community!

If you are interested in joining the UWPA Engagement Committee, please contact the committee co-chairs*! We look forward to strengthening the engagement among the postdoctoral community at UW-Madison and with broader communities.

Committee Members

*Alyssa Adams, Department of Bacteriology (amadams4@wisc.edu)

*Burcu Alptekin, Department of Bacteriology and Agronomy (alptekin@wisc.edu)

Daniel Z. Radecki, Department of Comparative Biosciences

Erin Garcia, Department of Medical Microbiology & Immunology

James Romero-Masters, Department of Oncology

Jane Evered, Department of Family Medicine and Community Health 

Jessica Kelliher, Department of Medical Microbiology & Immunology

Juleen Dickson, Department of Biochemistry

*Liza Chang, Wisconsin Institute for Science Education and Community Engagement (lchang9@wisc.edu)

Shane McMahon, Department of Neuroscience

Sobhika Agarwala, Department of Cell and Regenerative Biology

*committee co-chairs