2021 Postdoctoral Research Symposium

The 6th Annual UW–Madison Postdoctoral Research Symposium will be held Friday, September 24th at the Genetics-Biotechnology Center Building. Organized during the National Postdoc Appreciation Week, the symposium offers a venue for UW-Madison postdocs to share their work with others and foster new collaborations. This year’s theme is research communication. Register for the symposium here.

The symposium includes a Poster Session and a Blitz Talk competition to showcase the ongoing research from our excellent postdocs. The poster session and blitz talk competition is open to postdocs from all disciplines. There will be a Judge’s award for the winner of the Blitz Talks and people’s choice awards for the Poster Session and Blitz Talks.

To participate in the Poster Session and/or the Blitz Talks please submit your abstract here by midnight on Monday, August 16th, 2021 (~300 words, optional graphical abstract, 1 double-spaced page max). Notification of acceptance will be sent in early September. Blitz Talk presenters will prepare a 5-minute research talk designed to engage a general audience. Poster presenters will bring a poster highlighting a recent research project to stand by during the poster session happy hour. This is a great opportunity to share your work and hone your research communication skills! Contact Helen Long (helen.long@wisc.edu) with questions regarding submissions.

Registration will remain open throughout the symposium. Register by Sept. 23 for lunch.

Link to Register


2021 Poster and Blitz Guidelines

Community Norms and Guidelines

Tech Support

6th Annual Postdoctoral Research Symposium

Schedule of Events

Friday 24th

10:30-10:45 am – Registration, Coffee

10:45-11:00 am – Welcome from UWPA President

11:00-12:00 pm – Career Panel

12:00-12:45 pm – Lunch, Career Panelist Networking (Optional)

12:45-1:00 pm – Break

1:00-2:00 pm – Keynote Address by Dr. Nan Li

2:15-3:30 pm – Blitz Talk Competition

3:45-5:00 pm – Poster Session, Networking Happy Hour

2021 Postdoctoral Symposium Committee

Yu Hasegawa – C0-Chair

Julie Kirsch – C0-Chair

Julia Nepper – C0-Chair

Ali Deatsch

Eishika Dissanayake

Helen Long

Aashique Rezwan

Jane Evered

Minjung Son

Andrea Casillas