Peer Mentoring

Badger Buddies Basics

Badger Buddies is intended to provide new postdocs, within 1 year of their appointment start date, with a small group shared interests postdocs led by an established postdoc. New postdocs are free to move between groups to find the one that best fits their schedule, interests, ideas, and offers the support or information they want. All the mentors are volunteers interested in enhancing the postdoc experience for others, and easing the transition to Madison. The UWPA is always interested in improving the Badger Buddies program and wants to hear your ideas and input. Attend one of our Executive Council meetings, email an Executive Council member, or tell the Office of Postdoctoral Studies your thoughts.

Badger Buddies History

The Badger Buddies Peer Mentoring program for postdocs was originally conceived in 2013 by Chris Konop, a postdoc at UW-Madison. The program was overhauled and relaunched in 2019 by the Badger Buddies Committee: Hector Burgos-Robles, Kaitlin Davis, Sanath Janaka, Daniel Z. Radecki, and the Office of Postdoctoral Studies with Imogen Hurley.

Badger Buddies Alumni

The UWPA would like to thank all postdocs who have volunteered to be mentors in the Badger Buddies program. Below are alumni of the Badger Buddies program who have devoted their time and effort to enhancing and supporting the postdoc community at the University of Wisconsin – Madison.

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.


  • Hector Burgos-Robles, Ph.D.
  • Sanath Janaka, Ph.D.
  • Kaitlin Davis, Ph.D.
  • Daniel Z. Radecki, Ph.D.
  • Alireza Ousati Ashtiani, Ph.D.
  • Sebastian Bauer, Ph.D.
  • Taehee Kim, Ph.D.
  • Shane McMahon, Ph.D.
  • Jay Mishra, Ph.D.
  • Gina Galleo, Ph.D.
  • Ashley Kates, Ph.D.
  • Marco La Manna, Ph.D.
  • Teal Potter, Ph.D.


  • Hector Burgos-Robles, Ph.D.
  • Kaitlin Davis, Ph.D.
  • Daniel Z. Radecki, Ph.D.
  • Liza Chang, Ph.D.


  • Liza Chang, Ph.D., chair
  • Alyssa Adams, Ph.D.
  • Jess Kelliher, Ph.D.
  • Shalini Lal, Ph.D.
  • Daniel Z. Radecki, Ph.D.